Foreign-Trade Zone Structure

Federal Structure

The Foreign Trade Zones Board, housed within the U.S. Department of Commerce, is responsible for administration of the FTZ program at the federal level. The Foreign-Trade Zones Board is comprised of the Secretary of Commerce and the Secretary of the Treasury, and is chaired by the Secretary of Commerce. The Commissioner of U.S. Customs and Border Protection also plays a key role, providing a position during the FTZ Board voting process with respect to customs security, control, and resource matters. The FTZ Board has delegated action authority on most matters to a Committee of Alternates, consisting of the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Import Administration and the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Tax, Trade, and Tariff Policy.

State & Local Structure

In Georgia, there are three international ports of entry located in Atlanta, Savannah & Brunswick. Each port has an active FTZ “project” consisting of various sites and operations. FTZ projects are identified primarily by a number which is assigned by the FTZ Board upon approval of an application for a new zone project. Georgia Foreign-Trade Zone, Inc. (GFTZ) is the grantee of FTZ #26, a zone project associated with the Port of Entry in Atlanta – Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. As Grantee of FTZ #26, GFTZ facilitates the use of the FTZ program for companies and communities throughout much of Georgia, and sponsors applications for new FTZ sites.

Customs & Border Protection

A site which has been granted zone status may not be used for zone activity until the site has been separately approved for FTZ activation by local U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) officials, and the zone activity remains under the supervision of CBP. FTZ sites and facilities remain within the jurisdiction of local, state or federal governments or agencies.